55th Annual General Meeting,

The 55th Annual General Meeting of Rutland Natural History Society, was held on Tuesday 3rd March 2020, at Voluntary Action Rutland, Lands’ End Way, Oakham, with Vice-President Philip Rudkin in the chair. A very good turn-out of 67 members were in attendance.

Apologies, minutes of the previous AGM 2018, and matters arising were discussed and accepted.
Margaret Connor delivered a clear and precise Treasurer’s Report; followed by the acceptance of the independent Examiner. No comments were received!

Chairman’s Annual Report:
Chair Linda Biddle delivered a comprehensive report on the 2019 season; highlighting the good attendances at both indoor and outdoor field meetings.

Election of Officers: There were new appointments: Programme secretary, Jane Walker, and Secretary, Linda Clark. ‘Fieldfare’ editorial team, Carolyn Baxter and her daughter Sophie Widdowson. These combined with the existing other officers were elected ‘En bloc’.

Election of Committee: Three new members, combined with the existing committee members, were elected ‘En bloc.

Any Other Business: Linda Biddle spoke at length about the Society’s new ‘Risk Assessment’ rules, and the importance of carrying them out at field meetings. Linda also praised the new members for agreeing to join the committee. However, we are now looking for a member to take over the post of Butterfly Recorder, (due to the resignation of the current recorder). Linda finished with a plea: we are still in need of a Fungi Recorder.

Finally, the clerk to Clipsham Parish Meeting: Mr. Clifford Bacon, was invited to speak on the protest he is involved in; with the Leicestershire County council ecology department: reference Clipsham Bidwell Quarries. Cliff spoke at length about this situation; and urged members of the society to protest to Rutland County Council.

The date for the next AGM in March 2021 was fixed, and Philip Rudkin brought the meeting to an end.

The new line-up for the coming year, is as follows:
President: Mr. E. R. Hanbury
Vice-Presidents: Mr. P. J. Rudkin and Dr C. R. Jones

Chairman: Linda Biddle.
Vice-Chairman: Peter Scott.
Secretary: Linda Clark.
Treasurer and Membership secretary: Margaret Connor.
Programme secretary: Jayne Walker.
Fieldfare Editors: Carolyn Baxter and Sophie Widdowson.


John Bristow.
Jenny Harris.
Patricia Marston
John Rodgers.
Jill and Jeffery Wilcox-Smith

Everyone settled down to listen to the speaker: Lloyd Park give a fascinating and powerful lecture,
Titled: “Bird Migration and Ringing”. Lloyd is reserves officer at Rutland Water Nature Reserves, and is a very experienced licensed bird ringer. The presentation was informative and educational;
Lloyd had brought along some of his work tools (rings of all sizes), and superb slides showed birds in the hand, and the ringing techniques. He has travelled all over the world, ringing birds for various bodies. The talk was well received!

Retiring ‘Insect and Others’ recorder: Gill Chiverton, was presented with a bouquet and a gift from the Society, by Vice President Philip Rudkin.

Philip Rudkin.